Skip to content

Eight things about me

2 July 2007

I was tagged by The Young Fogey and David’s Daily Diversions.

Here are the rules…

1. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
2. People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
3. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Here are eight things about me:

1. I was born on (Western) Easter Sunday in 1941. My 11th brithday was also on (Western) Easter Sunday. But my birthday would not fall on Easter Sunday for another 79 years. Since my birthday often falls in Lent, I celebrate it on Pascha. The next time it falls on Easter Sunday it will be on both Western and Orthodox Easter, in 2031.

2. As a result of (1), I hope to die in Bright Week, 2031, at the age of 90, if it is God’s will.

3. I discovered (1) from Ripley’s “Believe it or not”, which featured a girl from West Africa who was born on Western Good Friday in 1941, had her 11th birthday on Good Friday in 1952, and would have to wait another 79 years before her birthday fell on Good Friday again.

4. In 1966 I was a bus driver in both Johannesburg and London.

5. In 1969 I was fired twice: first, by the Anglican bishop of Natal from being assistant chaplain to the Missions to Seamen (for holding a “psychedelic” service), and second by the Department of Water Affairs in Namibia (for being editor of a magazine Ikon which even the Christian Institute — later banned by the government — found too radical).

6. In 1972 I was made homeless twice: first by being deported from Namibia, and second, when staying with my cousin in Pietermaritzburg, by being banned to Durban.

7. I was the last tram conductor in Johannesburg – I began my training as a bus conductor in the same week that the last trams were replaced by oil buses, and was the only one of my intake to go on the tram routes before they changed.

8. I was Enemy of the State number 1658 in the apartheid era.

Now, who to tag, who hasn’t already been tagged by someone else?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 July 2007 3:46 pm

    Well, I’m flattered you’d mention me, but I don’t do memes – they don’t really fit with the theme or readership of my blog. Sorry. Not sure I could think of 8 random things that I haven’t already said and would wish to be in public, anyway!

    FWIW, though, I see my birthday is exactly a week after yours. And it’s another that was very rarely Easter, at least in the Western system, during last century. The first time I celebrated my birthday at Easter was in 2003 – then the next one will be 2014, and another in 2025. But after that, there’s a long gap until 2087, and as I would be 117 that year I’m unlikely to see it.

  2. Julie Belding permalink
    2 July 2007 11:11 pm

    Eight things about me?
    Hmmm.
    1.Edit a magazine
    2.Once visited a prisoner on FLorida’s Death Row
    3. Can’t stand olives but love sweetened condensed milk
    4. Once ate a koeksister (sp?) when staying in South Africa with Val and Steve Hayes
    5. Once ran for parliament
    6. have eaten at McDonalds in Moscow
    7. Just visited Manila
    8. Enjoy grandchildren so much that I wish I’d had ‘em first
    –Jules

  3. 5 July 2007 4:03 am

    Thanks for playing, Father!

  4. 6 July 2007 6:31 am

    Jules,

    I too have eaten at MacDonalds in Moscow. The first time I ate at MacDonalds was in Hong Kong, and it was the most exotic thing I could find there. Now we have them in South Africa.

    But you wwere supposed to put it in your blog, rather than in a comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

