What does tiffany have to do with missional?
29 December 2009
The Missional Tribe social networking website seems to have been hijacked by spammers, who are starting a new blog every five minutes and swamping it with irrelevant trash about “tiffany” and other such junk.
Is anyone in charge there? Is anyone maintaining the site? Does anyone know?
Advertisement
3 Comments
leave one →














I have sympathy with them – over at Bundublog.com – our South African blogging platform, we were getting up to 50 “splogs” (Spam blogs) a day being established.
And then we had the spam comments to try and moderate / manage as well which is a pain!
One of the toughest parts of all of it was that often the blogs would be established in a foreign language – Chinese (Mandarin I guess) and bizarrely Swedish.
You have no clue what they are saying.
On one hand you don’t want to scare away the new bloggers if they are genuine but on the other you are trying to work out if they are adding to your community or simply spamming it
Marc,
I can understand and sympathise with your problem. If you are offering a general blogging platform and trying to encourage new bloggers, it’s hard to tell whether new applicants are genuine or not.
But Missional Tribe is somewhat different. It’s a social networking cum blogging site that deals with a particular interest. It can exclude people who don’t share the core interest of the site.
I’ve not tried to run such a site, but I do manage several mailing lists, and before allowing people to join and post to them I ask them to say why they want to join. I sometimes give them the benefit of the doubt, but with the first spam they post they are out.
Fair enough – if you’re niche then you can very quickly eliminate the spammers.
Aaahh the joys of “Web 2.0″ – topped by spam