Skip to content

Rants in blog comments

16 July 2008

When are blog comments spam?

I’m not talking about the ads for limos or products I’ve never heard of. In the case of WordPress those are painlessly removed by Akismet (over 20000 of them in the 18 months this blog has been in existence), which I never see unless I deliberately go to look for them.

But there are comments that have clearly been written before the writer has ever read the blog post they are supposed to be commenting on, and so are not a comment on the post. I haven’t reported them as spam so far, but have usually written to the commenter and suggested that they get their own blog and post it there.

The most recent, which I deleted this morning, was a long rant about mental health prisoners in the USA.

Maybe we will see more of that kind of thing, as access to Usenet newsgroups is made more difficult by ISPs in the USA. The alt.religion.christian newsgroup used to be full of rants about that and about something called CPS. But it’s easy enough to start a blog on WordPress, so I wonder why such people don’t do so.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 July 2008 4:36 pm

    My rule of thumb on those screeds is if it’s longer than 150 words, they should get their own blog and stop using mine. Then I hit the delete.

  2. 16 July 2008 4:58 pm

    maybe because a blog full of rants don’t get read. But if I publish my rantings on your blog, more people will read it…
    I’m also changing my no-delete policy more and more easily lately

Leave a Reply

