Skip to content

Palindrones

7 September 2008

After being away for three weeks, most of the time without Internet access I came back and tried to catch up with reading newsgroups, including alt.religion.christian.east-orthodox and everyone was droning on and on about Sarah Palin, to the excusion of almost any other topic.

The way her fans talked about her and magnified her, one would think she was more honourable than the cherubim and more glorious beyond compare than the seraphim. To her detractors, she was worse than the Whore of Babylon. To those of us who don’t live in the USA, she was a crashing bore, or rather turned everyone else into one.

There are something like 35000 newsgroups on Usenet, including several devoted to the discussion of US politics, so why couldn’t the people who wanted to discuss Sarah Palin go and have at each other there rather than in an Orthodox Christian forum?

It’s not that I’m not interested in politics, but on an Orthodox forum, if there are to be political discussions, they should at least make some reference to theology.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. sol permalink
    8 September 2008 12:07 am

    I don’t read newsgroups and I apparently don’t have a newsreader set up on this computer, so I can’t see what’s been said. I have to say that I’m sad she has detractors amongst the Orthodox, though it wouldn’t surprise me that the same people who would support Orthodox pro-abortion politicans like Senator Olympia Snowe and former Senator Paul Sarbanes wouldn’t like her.

    I better not say any more, before you find me a crashing bore as well.

  2. 8 September 2008 7:24 am

    Sol,

    On his blog The Western Confucian quoted, ‘Scott P. Richert — Editors’ Round Table on Sarah Palin: One Catholic’s View. He says, “Anyone who votes for John McCain because of Sarah Palin still votes for John McCain, with all that that implies: rabid support for a war that two consecutive popes have condemned; the possible expansion of that war to Iran, and maybe Syria; a new Cold War with Russia; a vow to expand funding of embryonic stem-cell research, including the creation of new lines, which requires the destruction of more embryos; an unwillingness (as McCain repeatedly stated back in 1999) to overturn Roe v. Wade; support for contraception, sex education, and family-planning programs.” he says listing what that implies.”‘

    My objection is not so much to the discussion of politics as to the discussion of politics without any kind of theological rationale from either the supporters or the detractors. Their attitude seems to be “my party, right or wrong”.

  3. 8 September 2008 5:08 pm

    Oh, Palin-talk has taken over everything. I’d say only 1-2% of people are talking about her, the rest are like me, clicking past because we don’t really give a flying figment.

  4. yooryoo permalink
    9 September 2008 2:39 am

    At first I thought that the McCain/Palin ticket was the “Double-Talk” express – now I fear that it’s something much worse: evil, robots! Check out our take on Palin-drones: http://yooryoo.com/

  5. Kyralessa permalink
    10 September 2008 5:09 am

    I used to read alt.religion.christian.east-orthodox, some years ago, and I’m surprised to hear you suggest that people there *ever* post on its nominal topic. As I recall, there were occasional discussions of Orthodoxy, but also utterly endless tirades about Macedonia/FYROM and other intractable topics. There came a point when it just wasn’t worth it anymore.

  6. 10 September 2008 4:26 pm

    There’s was a bunch of stuff all over the blogosphere about Palin but I don’t see it as much now. Maybe I haven’t been paying attention too closely but I don’t recall seeing anything about her in the Orthodox blogs (with the exception of yours).

    Anyway, the thing that sort of interests me is her knowledge (and even opinion) of Orthodox Christians, being that she’s from (Orthodox) Alaska. I think she’s non-denominational.

Leave a Reply

