Skip to content

Weird spam comments

6 August 2009

Over the past few days I’ve been doing bulk deletes of weird spam comments that take the form:

sKZFks  <a rel=”nofollow” href=”http://hjiolevcjnau.com/”>hjaulmycjnau</a&gt;, [url=http://dpghbmkxjpqd.com/]dplobwoxjpqd[/url], [link=http://adslmramajek.com/]adslwevmajek[/link], <a rel=”nofollow” href=”http://rtqbvxfbimlt.com/”>http://rtqcqxfrkmlt.com/</a&gt;

Does anyone know any reason why anyone would take the time to post this gibberish when it is only going to be deleted?

The format appears to be exactly the same in each case,  the only variation appears to be in the actual letters used (one can’t say “wording” because there are no words).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 August 2009 10:30 am

    Hi there,

    I’ve been noticing them coming through on my spam catcher as well. I assumed it was a foreign language which I didn’t have an appropriate font for. I’d also like to know if anyone has an answer.

  2. 6 August 2009 10:06 pm

    I’m no expert, but my guess is that it is a mistake by a less-competant spammer. It’s probably the code that should deliver a ‘proper’ spam comment but it’s been done wrongly. As I say, just a guess.

    • 11 August 2009 6:59 am

      Perhaps you’re right. Since I posted the article about it, the amount of this kind of spam has dropped significantly — perhaps the posters have realised just how idiotic it is.

  3. Porlock Junior permalink
    17 August 2009 10:36 am

    It could be just bad coding in a spam operation; but with any strange html there’s always the possibility that it’s an attack. If it were posted, some readers’ browsers might follow the links, perhaps even without being explicitly asked to, and find themselves at sites with malicious code that can plant itself on computers that have some obscure vulnerabilities in the browser or the operating system or elsewhere.

    This sounds very paranoid, and I have zero evidence in this case, but it’s as well to keep in mind that new strange exploits that can take over somebody’s computer keep appearing, and the security holes get patched, and not everyone installs those patches. Hence, keeeping strange, inexplicable pieces of html off one’s site is definitely a public service.

  4. 3 September 2009 9:58 am

    I noticed something today. When I make a post which references an older post on my blog I seem to automatically attract spam to the older post almost instantaneously.

    I’m still getting the gobbledygook.

Leave a Reply

