Skip to content

Best books you’ve read this year

2 August 2017

What’s the best book you’ve read in the last year? With our literary coffee klatsch coming up tomorrow, I thought this was a good question asked here Book Geeks Anonymous – I cannot live without books. – Thomas Jefferson:

This list started with a question asked on Twitter:

I chimed in with my response, but today, I thought I’d elaborate on the answers I gave. And because I found it too hard to pick only one book, I decided to name one from each of the three main genres.

And, like the book geek, I didn’t like to think of just one book, so I thought I’d list a few of them.

  1. That hideous strength Lewis, C.S.
  2. The moon of Gomrath Garner, Alan.
  3. The Chapel of the Thorn Williams, Charles.
  4. Captain Corelli’s mandolin De Bernières, Louis.
  5. The kite runner Hosseini, Khaled.
  6. The silver chair Lewis, C.S.
  7. Elidor Garner, Alan.
  8. Inside Prince Caspian Brown, Devin.
  9. I didn’t know you cared Tinniswood, Peter.
  10. Adam Bede Eliot, George.
  11. Kim Kipling, Rudyard.
  12. The Night Ferry Robotham, Michael.
  13. Young romantics: the Shelleys, Byron, and other tangled
    lives.
    Hay, Daisy.
  14. The life and times of Michael K Coetzee, J.M.
  15. Teach Yourself Writing for Children and getting published Jones, Allan Frewin; Pollinger, Lesley.
  16. Borderliners Hoeg, Peter.
  17. Disgrace Coetzee, J.M.
  18. The owl service Garner, Alan.
  19. The Grand Sophy Heyer, Georgette.
  20. The subtle knife Pullman, Philip.

Those are probably not objective evaluations, just how much I liked them, and in compiling the list, I was surprised to see that 8 of those 21 were books I was rereading, some for more than the second or third time.

The Book Geek divided them into genres:

So what were the best books you have read in the last 12 months?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 August 2017 5:49 pm

    This looks like a terrific list! ‘The Kite Runner’ and ‘That Hideous Strength’ especially have been on my “To Be Read” list for some time now.

  2. Chairomai permalink
    2 August 2017 6:10 pm

    I love some of the books on your list too! I like the fact that your choices by C.S. Lewis are not the stereotypical ones – the Silver Chair in particular tends to slip through the net! It’s a really good endorsement for the books on your list that most of them are re-reads. Which were the ones you hadn’t read before? Best book I’ve read this year would probably be a tie between two I’m currently reading: Everyday Saints by Archimandrite Tikhon and Eleanor Atkinson’s classic Greyfriars Bobby; very different, but both really compelling reads.

    • 3 August 2017 7:02 am

      Top of the ones I hadn’t read before were:

      The Chapel of the Thorn Williams, Charles.
      Captain Corelli’s mandolin De Bernières, Louis.
      The kite runner Hosseini, Khaled.
      Inside Prince Caspian Brown, Devin.
      Adam Bede Eliot, George.
      The Night Ferry Robotham, Michael.
      Young romantics: the Shelleys, Byron, and other tangled
      lives. Hay, Daisy.
      The life and times of Michael K Coetzee, J.M.
      Teach Yourself Writing for Children and getting published Jones, Allan Frewin; Pollinger, Lesley.
      Borderliners Hoeg, Peter.
      Disgrace Coetzee, J.M.

      If you type words from the title or the author’s name in theb search box you might find some of my reviews, or links to other people’s reviews, though some of the reviews are on my other blog Notes from Underground.

      • Chairomai permalink
        3 August 2017 1:31 pm

        I’ll definitely check our some of the reviews 🙂

Leave a Reply

