Skip to content

Squeezel? Squeeza? What does it mean?

6 September 2007

There’a new word going around, and I’m wondering what it means. It’s “squeezel” or “squeeza”, or at least sounds something like that.

Can someone who actually uses the word tell me what they mean by it.

The first time I heard it was about 3 years ago, when a woman was mugged crossing a railway line near our house. We called the police, and when they came a neighbour came to see what all the fuss was about. Both the police and the neighbour called the victim “my squeezel”, or something that sounded like that. It sounded as though it was meant to be comforting, but the police would not take a statement or open a case docket — they said they would only do that if they caught the perpetrator — but how could they catch him without a description. It seemed as though they were trying to make crime statistics on their beat look good.

I wondered what “squeezel” meant, though, but didn’t like to ask, to reveal my ignorance.

And now laaitie has mentioned the use of the word, or at least the similar word “squeeza”:

What makes white people think they can act like this?’ From the young white girl who thinks it’s cool to call the old Black woman behind the bread counter at the Pick ‘n Pay in Killarney ‘my squeeza’, to the white kugel walking out of the CNA in Rosebank who screams at the young Black cashier when the alarm goes off as she passes through the security scanners at the exit (as if it’s his fault that the machine thinks that she could have stolen something)

Clearly laaitie regards it as racist, so perhaps if anyone does use it they won’t like to admit to using it, but I’d still like to know what it means, where it comes from, and how widespread it is. Is it only used in Gauteng, or is it used elsewhere as well?

What qualifies one to be called a squeeza or squeezel? Is it always preceded by “my”? And how should it be spelt, if my spelling is incorrect?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 September 2007 4:37 pm

    Hi there!
    I just noticed on Amatomu.com that you and I are the only 2 blogs under the category “religion”… for now anyway.

    About “squeeza” I’m not sure what exactly it means but I’ve been called that by some packers at the supermarket I worked at when I was 16. It was on the South Coast, KZN. I was a cashier and worked the deli and bakery later. I’m not sure what it meant but felt like it was an affectionate name. The packer was female and much older than me though.

    I’m not sure what it’s supposed to mean either and would love more clearance on it!
    Please comment people!

  2. 7 September 2007 4:38 pm

    p.s. that happened more than 7 years ago! so its not new either.

  3. todd permalink
    28 January 2008 6:39 am

    From the Urban Dictionary:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Squeezel

    1. Squeezel

    1. (n) Vietnamese term for a porcupine.

    Popularized in the Vietnam episode of Anthony Bordain’s ‘No Reservations’ when he nervously watches the preparation of an unfamilar woodland animal and later finds a quill in his soup, thus revealing the true nature of the animal.

  4. 28 January 2008 7:40 pm

    Well now, a porcupine in a supermarket queue!

  5. Squeezel permalink
    23 October 2008 9:03 am

    hmm~ well it’s my name =D

    … yeah… not my real one…

    I got the name when i squeeze some ketchup :\

    me likez squeezing ketchup >:/

  6. Chobz permalink
    7 May 2009 3:22 pm

    From http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squeeza – I think this is the definition you are looking for

    1. Squeeza

    a term refering to a close personal friend or partner.
    I am hanging out with my squeeza(s); I like her, she is my squeeza.
    friend peer girlfriend boyfriend squeeza
    by LHGUNNY Aug 10, 2006 share this

    2. squeeza

    It’s a Fanagalo word (language that developed in the minefields of South Africa) meaning sister-in-law.

    But it can be used as a loose term to refer to a female friend or acquaintance. Maybe even your girlfriend.
    “aita squeeza, lets go catch a movie”
    girlfriend babe friend cherrie sister

    • 8 May 2009 7:16 pm

      Thanks very much indeed. I think the second meaning is the one I was looking for

  7. 18 January 2016 6:56 am

    I actually made up this word to refer to an unknown species of small mammal. There are tree squeezel and ground squeezels. I made it up to fool my boyfriend about 14 years ago.

  8. Amber permalink
    17 January 2017 11:10 am

    “Squeeza” was given as a nickname to maids. Nobody wants to use the term “maid” or whatever else is used. So this nickname was created to make it sound somewhat better, in the terms of people not being able to pronounce their domestic workers names. It’s not racist at all and I don’t know why people stretch it out that way. I don’t know where it comes from but I do know that most Afrikaans households use it. It’s a South African thing.

  9. Chantelle permalink
    17 July 2017 10:18 am

    Hi, when I was at University I stayed in a hostel. I remember on my first day we got introduced to the cleaners and that an appropriate term to use is ‘squeeza’ and when a cleaner passed me she would say “hi squeeza”, this confused me since I am a white lady and also had no idea what it means and if the context is good or bad. I asked the cleaner to explain it to me and she said it is a ‘slang’ term to use to refer to someone as a friend. So when I went to my parents house again and the domestic was there i called her squeeza out of habit. She laughed and replied with ‘halo chommie’.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.