Skip to content

The Bible in five statements

27 November 2009

My blogging friend Matt Stone of Glocal Christianity tagged me: Summarise the Bible in five statements, the first one word long, the second two, the third three, the fourth four and the last five words long. Or possibly you could do this in descending order. Tag five people.

Here’s my Bible summary:

  1. Good
  2. Evil enters
  3. God sets bounds
  4. The Kingdom strikes back
  5. Whose side are you on?

I tag: James Hargrave, Matushka Donna, Terry Cowan, Roger Saner, Jenny Hillebrand.

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 27 November 2009 7:26 am

    I’m thinking, there’s an obvious Christus Victor interpretation underlying your summary. I’m wondering how a Calvinist would summarize.

    • 27 November 2009 1:06 pm

      None of those I’ve tagged are Calvinists, but perhaps someone else has tagged some Calvinists on it, so let’s see what they say.

    • 28 November 2009 2:52 pm

      Matt,

      Mark has now posted a Calvinist version at Because He lives.

  2. 27 November 2009 11:16 am

    Unitarian summary in one sentence: Why can’t people be nice to each other for a change? (hat-tip to Douglas Adams)

    • 27 November 2009 12:03 pm

      Perhaps that explains the joke about the bloke in the Deep South of the USA when all those guys with white sheets were running around, and he complained “Those darned Unitarians burned a question mark on my lawn.”

  3. 27 November 2009 12:30 pm

    I was thinking of that bit in Amos, “Let justice roll down like waters”…

    Seriously though, my summary would have to include something about changing human perceptions of the divine – from tribal thunder god to all-embracing universal consciousness.

  4. 27 November 2009 1:02 pm

    I have risen to the challenge: The Bible in five statements

  5. 29 November 2009 7:47 pm

    I’ll tag a Calvinist for you… once I have my own summary.

  6. 4 December 2009 7:10 pm

    Here’s what you might call a Calvinist response, as it’s from a Reformed seminarian:

    1. God creates heavens and earth.
    2. Man makes himself god.
    3. God-Man on earth.
    4. Dies vicariously.
    5. Restoration.

    • 5 December 2009 8:44 am

      Thanks — I think that is the kind of thing Matt was looking for.

  7. 21 December 2009 6:16 pm

    I first saw this on Reddit. Here’s what I posted:

    Man, the image of God.
    Sin breaks the mold.
    Christ reforges humanity.
    Partakers deified.
    Union.

Trackbacks

  1. The Bible in Five Statements Meme : Ephemeral Thoughts
  2. bible haiku « a time to rend
  3. The Bible in Five Statements Meme « Ephemeral Thoughts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.